From the Mouth of Cliches

So yesterday we were coming back from our field trip, and the kid I was supposed to sit next to wanted to sit next to someone else (which is fine, because at the public schools we’re all about giving kids “choice”). But anyway, that meant I sat next to a little girl I don’t normal converse with.

I’m sure our conversation started off mundane.

I don’t know. Maybe it started off about bus safety – stay with the grown ups and everything. Then she was talking about how if you don’t, you’ll get kidnapped. And then she proceeds to tell me how one time she got taken, “And then I died!” Now, you have to know that four year olds are notorious for launching into slightly exaggerated narrative accounts a la Shel Silverstein, so I guess I wasn’t unusually phased at that point.

But somehow it developed like this:
“And then God made me alive.”
My ears perked up at such a theological statement, but I managed to say was something generic, like “Oh, I’m glad you’re alive again.”
And she went on: “God made me, just like He made everything.”
Now I’m really paying attention.

Then she launches into this explanation of (I guess what I took to be) the Resurrection. Pretty awesome, right? But there was the piece about “He was dead, and his brother brought him back to life.”
So I said something like, oh do you mean he was dead and God brought him back to life?
She said: “That’s what I said! His brother!”
Oh right. His brother.
Clearly she had a notion of a multiperson God relating to Himself in a familial way, which is more than can be said for a lot of folks, but it seems like her notion of the Trinity could use a little clarification. =P

Song: How Great Is Our God, by Chris Tomlin
Oblique References: Psalm 8:2, Matt 21:16

This entry was posted in Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to From the Mouth of Cliches

  1. T3 says:

    That’s very reassuring, actually. There’s certainly some room for mommy and daddy to do some work, but it’s great to see that they’re taking what needs to be done so seriously. That’s more than can be said for a lot of parents, and I think it might be useful for you to connect with them if you determine a way to do so.

Leave a Reply

