Is there no physician?

“Is the LORD not in Zion*?
Is her King not in her?”
For the wound of the daughter of my people is my heart wounded;
I mourn, and dismay has taken hold on me.
Is there no balm in Gilead?
Is there no physician there?
Why then has the health of the daughter of my people
not been restored?” – Jeremiah 8:19-22

In Tales of the Kingdom the rangers would call out to one another:
“How goes the world?”
“The world goes not well, but the Kingdom comes.”

And surely our King walks among us, pleased as man with us to dwell, Jesus our Immanuel. See our Humble King, riding on a donkey? He is our Redeemer, our Mediator, and our Restorer, who grants us rest.

He restores us. He gathers the outcasts and exiles back to Himself. Does the the grave praise God? No. It is the sons of Adam*. Us of dust, who are restored only by an act of His Hand. How great the mercy He has lavished on us…! Not only does He restore us individually, He also restores us corporately: As His church and bride .

* I have to say, Tank is one of my favorite characters, and I find myself more and more pronouncing “Zion” like he does…

This entry was posted in Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is there no physician?

  1. Pingback: To the King! To Restoration! | Twin City Theologist

Leave a Reply

