Fairer Still

Living in Minnesota really teaches you about the value of spring. I mean, in New Zealand, the plants truly came out at springtime, regardless of the weather. But compared to MN, this so called “weather” is exceeding mild. For example, we had snow on the first day of May. May! The Canadian Designer’s blog that I read keeps talking about Summer like it’s almost here. No no. For us, spring is barely awakening.

Another thing is, Christchurch is called the Garden City. Flowers are common. I began to wonder why the flowers here hadn’t come out yet, because surely it hadn’t been that cold, right? But it gradually dawned on me that people just don’t plant flowers here in St Paul. Which makes dandelions that much more delightful.

All of this weather and floral confounding brings a whole new spin to the classic hymn we sang at EBC on Sunday that goes:

    Fair are the meadows, fairer still the woodlands,
    Robed in the blooming garb of spring

After I’ve lost count how many months of winter, truly, one sees even more beauty in these things.

    But Jesus is fairer, Jesus is purer,
    Who makes my woeful heart to sing!
This entry was posted in St Paul, Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fairer Still

  1. T3 says:

    I hate to sound like I’m trying to one-up you, but as a Chicagoan (grew up in the suburbs, but I’ve spent five winters in Evanston) I found Wellington winter very mild (also). I’m used to huge piles of snow and temperatures well below freezing. In New Zealand I got drizzle and fifties-ish (Fahrenheit; 10-16 or so Celsius).

    Of course, here in Evanston and Chicago people plant flowers. I can’t empathize there.

  2. Steph says:

    Wow, no flowers? That’s terrible!! Where are you going to steal flowers from now? 😛

    I thought of you today. The weather people said that this is the coldest day on record here during this month. I think it only had to get below like 54 or something like that. Especially since I just came from Evanston which was like 50 and perfectly normal. I almost wondered if it would be a record the other way round for you lol

  3. Steph says:

    P.S. That smiley face was just supposed to have stuck his tongue out, but he looks a little bit crazy… I just wanted to let you know that wasn’t exactly intended haha

Leave a Reply

