Why Living Alone is a Culinary Train Wreck. No, really.

Now I’m sure you’re all familiar with being economical. It runs with the times, and, in my case, the age and income bracket. Like being on a college budget. Only less.

I realize I never really introduced the idea behind the St Paul Vagabond. And since this post has no auxiliary categorization, now would be the time.

An economical person asks “How can I get this cheaply?”

A good vagabond asks “How can I get this for free?”
(This is why I shamelessly take free tables from the side of the road and repaint them. =P)
Failing that, the proper question is “Do I really need it?” if so, “Can I make it myself? Is that cheaper than buying it?”

But this gets kind of awkward in the case of food, because, to my perpetual frustration, I seem to need it on a regular basis, so the cost can’t be reduced to zero. Now, I’m sure there’s at least 250 people who would jump in shock and rush to me with food if I was starving. But things might get suspicious after a while if I was housed and employed and without food.

So, basically like most things in adult life, I gotta do it myself. This is great, right? You’re living alone, so you can chose to buy and make only and exactly your favorite foods. But, I’ve found, there’s really only so many ways you can combine items together before it gets really really repetitive.

Go shopping! You tell me.

Perfectly reasonable. But let’s check our shopping list against our vagabond axioms:
– I don’t need ice cream, orange juice, chocolate, etc.
– I can make english muffins, donuts, cinnamon rolls, pancakes etc myself. For cheaper.
– I can make chili, soup, lasagna, pasta sauce, pizza etc myself. For cheaper.

So I end up buying baking goods, veges, fruit and condiments. Then you spend a while making a whole bunch of something great, like donuts. And then you feel like you have tons of food! But it’s really just tons of donuts, and they really do get average after a while! Plus, it gets really distressing to look in the fridge and see the only vaguely edible things are apricots, mustard and eggs. What can we pull out of the hat today?

This entry was posted in Cooking, St Paul Vagabond. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why Living Alone is a Culinary Train Wreck. No, really.

  1. T3 says:

    Sounds to me like you need some cookbooks. And then you need a place to find more exotic ingredients…

  2. pxsarkany says:

    Cookbooks might help. But I tend not to follow rules when cooking. Well except for baking. I try and fail to follow rules there.

    And I don’t think the exotic nature of ingredients is at fault, either. You can get bored with avocado and jicama as easily as beans and rice.

    But maybe what you mean to say is I need more variety. Which is probably true.

  3. Erica says:

    We will have fun cooking when we move in together! As long as you don’t mind that I use really strange ingredients… My newest kick is experimenting with herbs/spices so that the same thing- like chicken- can taste really different. Or you can just change the ingredients slightly in whatever you’re making. Pancakes can be plain pancakes, or banana pancakes or pumpkin or coconut or chocolate chip or blueberry, or have strawberries or a baked apple on top. The possibilities are endless!

Leave a Reply

