Music Meme

So every so often on this internet thing these things called Memes happen. According to the experts, ‘meme’ “sounds a bit like ‘gene'”and “conveys the idea of a unit of cultural transmission, or a unit of imitation.” Out in the wild, people get pretty into them, and get their friends into them too. Sometimes, they are actually fun to do. Currently, there is a popular meme of posting a song a day for a month. But I’m too lazy to remember to do that for a whole month (not to mention that my memory is terrible. Where did I put that stuff?), so here’s all 30 songs at once. Enjoy.

Song 01 – Your favorite song

    Thorns, by Demon Hunter
    But the song for this current phase in life is Project 86’s Chapter 2

Song 02 – Your least favorite song

    If you go with the song that has the most skips in Itunes, it’s Fallin’ by Regrettable Me

Song 03 – A song that makes you happy

    Livin’ on a Prayer, by Bon Jovi

Song 04 – A song that makes you sad

    The Scientist, by Cold Play

Song 05 – A song that reminds you of someone

    Three songs for three different people:
    All Summer Long, by Kid Rock
    Disappear, by Jars of Clay
    Saints of Los Angeles, by Motley Crue

Song 06 – A song that reminds of you of somewhere

    Those Nights, by Skillet
    Work, by Jars of Clay

Song 07 – A song that reminds you of a certain event

    Quicken, by Thousand Foot Krutch
    Irene, by TobyMac

Song 08 – A song that you know all the words to

    Jesus Freak, by dc Talk.

Song 09 – A song that you can dance to

    The Freeze, by Greg and Steve.

Song 10 – A song that makes you fall asleep

    I don’t think I listen to music that makes me sleepy. But I do listen to music while I go to sleep. Does that count?

Song 11 – A song from your favorite band

    Bounce, by Thousand Foot Krutch.

Song 12 – A song from a band you hate

    Let’s pick anything by Justin Bieber. He has invalidated Hot Topic, by selling his music there. Shame on him!

Song 13 – A song that is a guilty pleasure

    Remember the Name, by Fort Minor

Song 14 – A song that no one would expect you to love

    I think in general people tend to be quite surprised by my music tastes.
    I bet I could surprise some people by telling them I listen to Motley Crue and AC/DC
    I could probably surprise a bunch of other people by telling them I listen to Christian metal, like Becoming the Archtype and Soul Embraced.
    And I could probably surprise almost everyone else by telling them I like folk music.
    Failing that, we could go with “Razor” by the Foo Fighters.
    But now I’ve gone and ruined the surprise.

Song 15 – A song that describes you

    Thorns, by Demon Hunter

Song 16 – A song that you used to love but now hate dislike

    Dig, by Jars of Clay

Song 17 – A song that you hear often on the radio

    Haven’t Met You Yet, by Michael Buble

Song 18 – A song that you wish you heard on the radio

    Rusty Halo, by the Script

Song 19 – A song from your favorite album

    Whispers in the Dark, by Skillet

Song 20 – A song that you listen to when you’re angry

    Better than Drugs, by Skillet
    Falls Apart, by Thousand Foot Krutch

Song 21 – A song that you listen to when you’re happy

    Sadie Hawkin’s Dance, by Relient K

Song 22 – A song that you listen to when you’re sad

    Falling Inside the Black, by Skillet

Song 23 – A song that you want to play at your wedding

    Pull Me Closer, Violent Dancer, by Project 86

Song 24 – A song that you want to play at your funeral

    Carry Me Down, by Demon Hunter
    All My Tears, by Jars of Clay

Song 25 – A song that makes you laugh

    I’m Lion-o, by Relient K

Song 26 – A song that you can play on an instrument

    Joy to the World

Song 27 – A song that you wish you could play

    To End It All, by Soul Embraced. It would be so sweet to know how to shred guitar.

Song 28 – A song that makes you feel guilty

    Quicken, by Thousand Foot Krutch

Song 29 – A song from your childhood

    Back When I Could Fly, by Trout Fishing in America

Song 30 – Your favorite song at this time last year

    I lack specific documentation on this. But, I apparently posted some song lyrics on April 7th, 2010, and they were for Becoming the Archetype’s “Self-Existent.” Although on second thought, I was graduating about this time last year, and Project 86’s “Destroyer” was pretty pivotal then.
This entry was posted in Linguistics, St Paul. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Music Meme

  1. Rachel B says:

    I LOVE (and totally feel the same way) how you hate Justin Bieber. I lol-ed.
    – Rachel B

Leave a Reply

