Flowers in the Road Cones

Right now my beloved Twin Cities church is heading out for their fourth annual retreat. They sent out myriad updates about the snowy conditions, and many cautions to drive carefully, much as they had to do two years ago.

Two years ago today I was at the south east corner of Davis and Sherman, walking with my mom to Argo Tea, to meet her friend Diane. My mom was in the area mainly to visit her sister, but she wanted to see some friends too. At least, that was the plan.


Two years ago today it was a Monday. The Wednesday previously my Mom had emailed me saying she was coming to Chicago the next day. Short notice. But, I told her I was already planning on being out of town, and it would be easy enough to come down for the weekend.

I came down on Friday night, must have arrived Saturday morning. We stayed in the Best Western on Sherman. My mom had already been there a couple days. She’d already been over to visit my brother, who was sharing a house with a bunch of guys, guys I was all friends with.

I distinctly remember when I got to the hotel, my mom said “Have you had a chance to see your friend [Ghost] yet?”

I hadn’t.

Two years ago I was in Evanston, because I had come out to be with my mom who was visiting her sister who was sick with cancer, and after we saw my aunt, I went to visit my brother because he lived in town, and the guys were having a game night. I liked to play games, and was friends with the guys.

Two years ago the one guy that I liked had tape over his glasses, not because there was something wrong with his glasses, but because there was something wrong with his eyes.

Two years ago today I was in Evanston, because I had come out to be with my mom who was visiting her sister who was dying of cancer, and I went to my brother’s place because the guys were having a game night.

At the hotel my mom had asked “Have you had a chance to see your friend Tom yet?” because she had, and she knew that he had tape over his glasses because there was something wrong with his eyes because he had had surgery for a brain tumor.


Two years ago I had just come out to Evanston for the weekend. I had come out to be with my mom who was visiting her sister who was dying of cancer, and I had visited my brother’s place because the guys were having a game night, and the one guy I liked had tape over his glasses not because they were broken but because he had cancer.

Two years ago just today I was in Evanston but I couldn’t get back to St Paul because they had had a big snow storm in the Twin Cities, and the Megabus was not running anymore that weekend.

So my mom and I were going to meet her friend Diane at Argo Tea. We were at the south east corner of Davis and Sherman, walking west.

My phone rang. It was my pastor from the Twin Cities. Strange, I thought as I picked it up.

He said “Have you heard about the earthquake in Christchurch?”

Have you… what?

This entry was posted in Chi-Town, Christchurch, St Paul, St Paul Vagabond, The City, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

